Assignment five – ‘Photography is simple’ – The End

Course:  Expressing Your Vision

Assignment five – ‘Photography is simple’ – The End (following on from Assignment five – ‘Photography is simple’ – The Middle)

Please note: My tutor requests that my final Assignment image submissions are provided as A4 prints so the jpegs below are only of web quality.

So here are my final selected images for my ‘Photography is simple’ assignment, together with their technical specs (the text beside each image accompanied my A4 prints):

Image Summaries:
5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-a

Feet

Technical Details: ISO 2000 1/50 sec. f/3.5
I like the texture on the soles of my feet in this image.  I considered whether the image would have worked better if all my feet were in focus but it was difficult to hold in this position, so I didn’t get to try that.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-b

Hands

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/7.1
I like the way the ‘head’ lines on my palms line up.  The positioning of my hands in the frame means the eye is drawn up the fingers into the palms.  Definitely shows all the creases and contours of the hands.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-c


Ankles

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/7.1
This shows the side of the feet off well. We are now at the ankles.  A slightly unusual point of view/composition.  Holding the feet up to take this photograph was not easy.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-d


Forearms

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/7.1
Using symmetry and fitting the wrists around the knees.  I like the composition; how the tendons show up and you can see the veins stretching up the arm drawing your eye up through the image.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-e

Legs

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/7.1
moving up from the feet.  At this point I am alternately between the hands and feet routes up to the main body.  Again I like the composition, the knees pointing upwards in a less obvious way.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-f


Torso Back

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/4.5
I managed to get an elbow and the back of an arm in this frame as a leading line.  Also the top hand is framing a scar on my back; maybe this is a bit too subtle a detail.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-g

Torso Front

Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/4.5
Composition wise the arm leads you up the body.  I think the shapes and shadows work well together.  There is also a glimpse of my tattoo (and knicker marks!).

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-h

Shoulders

Technical Details: ISO 4000 1/100 sec. f/4
I never thought my back could even do this!  One place that you never really see for yourself, maybe in a mirror but this was definitely enlightening.  Bra marks visible but these add to the authenticity of the image.  Not entirely symmetrical but balanced.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-i

Throat

Technical Details: ISO 4000 1/100 sec. f/4.5
I included this in homage to a Man Ray image ‘Anatomies 1930’ which I saw in The Radical Eye exhibition at the Tate Modern.  I loved the abstract nature of the viewpoint.  The shadows accentuate the contours of the body.

 

 

Hair
Technical Details: ISO 5000 1/80 sec. f/6.3
My hair is one of my main defining features and it would be remiss if this was not included.  A nude image ‘with a difference’.  Again symmetry and form had a part to play in this image.

5 Assignment five Photography is Simple-j

Although the process was difficult and at times frustrating, once I saw the results I was pleased that I had persevered.

This completes my Assignment five submission from a course requirement perspective and I now await tutor feedback.

One thought on “Assignment five – ‘Photography is simple’ – The End

  1. Pingback: Assignment five – ‘Photography is simple’ – The Middle | BA (Hons) Photography : A Different Perspective

Leave a Reply

