Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The Middle

Course:  Expressing Your Vision

Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The Middle (following on from Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The Beginning)

Personal Reflection:

What worked well?
I am happy with the story and concept overall and think the six images work well as a set. The studio environment provided a lot of compositional flexibility and control. The subjects were not moving so there was time to position, re-position and be more considered about the arrangement before any shot was taken. This resulted in less ‘wasted’ images and time processing. Working through this part of the course I acknowledge that I am growing as a photographer. This time I was more focused on what I wanted to achieve and how to achieve it, rather than worrying about my camera and how to use it. I enjoyed the process very much and will definitely be developing this anthropomorphism concept a bit further in the future.

What didn’t work so well?
I think if I had to criticise anything it would be in the final printing. I felt that the printed images were a little on the dark side. I wanted the images to be lower key and intimate but not quite as much as they were. The digital sRGB versions work better in my opinion than the print versions. If I was to re-work this assignment I possibly would have chosen a slightly smaller print size than A4 to support the intimacy of the story. Also maybe I should have typed each line of the story on to the relevant image to provide more context.

Here are the contact sheets of the images taken for this assignment ahead of seeing the final selects on the following blog post:

 

Studio Light Egg Lamp Contact Sheet 4.4 1Studio Light Egg Lamp Contact sheet 4.4-2Studio Light Egg Lamp Contact Sheet 4.4-3

Please follow this link for the next section – Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The End.

2 thoughts on “Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The Middle

  1. Pingback: Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The End | BA (Hons) Photography : A Different Perspective

  2. Pingback: Assignment four – ‘Languages of light’ – The Beginning | BA (Hons) Photography : A Different Perspective

Leave a Reply

