Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The Middle

Course:  Expressing Your Vision

Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The Middle (following on from Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The Beginning)

Practitioner:
I carried out some initial research on skateboarding and skateboard photographers working within the field to get an understanding of the different approaches which could be taken with my images.  The link to this research can be found here, rather than including this review in my Assignment post.

In hindsight I think it probably works better if the research is included within the Assignment narrative, this way it is easier to reference, explain influences in context and demonstrate the research done in a more holistic way.  As I work through the other degree modules I think this approach will be expected.  That said Expressing Your Vision is the start of my journey and in this respect these are the things that are to be explored and better understood whilst working through the course so I feel that my journey is helping me to find my way through to the best working methods going forwards.

My research prior to this assignment was mainly online skateboarding photography and ‘How To’s’ on YouTube, to see what settings were most successful – references given below.

Self Assessment / Strengths and Weaknesses:

This was a new area for me working with moving human subjects as opposed to moving vehicular subjects and I did find it a little difficult being in such an open public space taking photographs of unknown subjects, so for me this was a big learning curve.  The longer I was there though the better, it became easier.  I made a point of connecting with the skateboarders at the end of the session and took an email address to send on the images that I had taken for their reference. Had I had more time I should have made several visits to the same location but this was not possible on this occasion.

What worked well?
The location provided a lot of compositional choices. I wanted to achieve: frozen motion, interesting action compositions and be receptive to, and work spontaneously with, a new activity which I had not been involved with before. I think my approach generally worked well and I captured some good images. I agree with Cartier-Bresson’s view that there is luck involved in photography, especially when you are trying to capture a frozen moment of a high speed activity that also has to obey all the photography ‘rules’ when time is against you.

What didn’t work so well?
I think I needed to explore taking images at different times of the day to see if I could get less contrasted images. As with all these techniques acknowledge practice makes perfect. I’m not sure I felt that comfortable with using shutter priority mode as I like to have full control over my image capture but I can see why it is needed/easier in some circumstances.

Please follow this link for the next section – Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The End.

References:

Roland Barthes, 2006. Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography. New Ed Edition. Vintage Books.

WordWeb: English dictionary, thesaurus, and word finder software. 2016. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.wordweb.info. [Accessed 30 August 2016].

YouTube. 2016. Henri Cartier-Bresson Part2 – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfwNrPX2pvw. [Accessed 30 August 2016].

2 thoughts on “Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The Middle

  1. Pingback: Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The Beginning | BA (Hons) Photography : A Different Perspective

  2. Pingback: Assignment three – ‘The decisive moment’ – The End | BA (Hons) Photography : A Different Perspective

Leave a Reply

