Part three – Project 2 – Exercise 3.2

Part three : Traces of Time…

Project 1 : A durational space
This section is all about capturing a trace of movement within the frame.

Exercise 3.2

Brief:
Using slow shutter speeds, the multiple exposure function, or another technique try to record the trace of movement within the frame.

Practical:
I chose to use slow shutter speeds for this exercise.  I wanted to capture static scenes, which had a momentary moving element in them.  And, to push my photography further I wanted to achieve the same effect but under 2 different lighting conditions.

Part 1: For the first part of this exercise I shot in daylight, because of the subject and available lighting conditions I was able to achieve these handheld.

Part 2: For this part of the exercise I shot at night and as the lighting conditions were very different I had to use a tripod to allow me to use the shutter speed required to capture the motion whilst keeping the surrounding elements static.

Part 1 Results:
I used shutter speeds in the range of 1/5 sec. to 1/10 sec. to achieve the correct amount of motion blur from the car/s whilst keeping the background static.  With a lot of photography there is an element of chance that ‘something’ will happen that will add to the overall success of an image and in this case having the addition of the people in the frame I think made the shot a lot more interesting.

My contact sheet for part 1 of this exercise is below showing my shooting data and final selection.

EYV Contact Sheet Ex 3.2 v2

My final selection, cropped and adjusted for colour correction in Lightroom, is below.

IMG_2442-2 Ex 3.2

Part 2 Results:
I used shutter speeds in the range of 2.5 sec. to 4 sec. to achieve the correct amount of motion blur from the car lights to capture just the light trails whilst keeping the background static. A slower shutter speed was required to just capture the lights rather than the cars themselves.

My contact sheet for part 1 of this exercise is below showing my shooting data and final selection.

EYV Contact Sheet Ex 3.2 p2 v2

My final selection, adjusted for colour correction in Lightroom, is below.

IMG_2638-2

Findings:
I think undertaking the two variations above on the use of shutter speed together within this exercise clearly shows the impact different shutter speeds can have under different conditions, whilst trying to achieve a slightly different goal using the same theme.  The slower the shutter speed the more time you have to capture motion blur, however, you have to be careful that the shutter speed is not too slow for your chosen subject otherwise they could be so fleeting within the overall time frame that they are not recorded at all.  Saying that, this technique is used by photographers who want to photograph a landscape, urban or otherwise, which is busy with people but they do not want people in the frame.  A long exposure makes the people fleeting within time/frame and so are not recorded strongly (as ghosts) or not at all.

Reflection:

These are two exercises which I would like to explore more in the future maybe with a different subject matter.  I think using cars is probably a bit cliché but it certainly works here to show the effects of slower shutter speeds with moving objects.  It is interesting to think that you could order/arrange all moving objects according to their speed capturing them in differing states of ‘blur’ within a photograph.

This completes my submission for Exercise 3.2.

Leave a Reply

