Assignment one – ‘Square Mile’ – The End

Course:  Expressing Your Vision

Assignment one – ‘Square Mile’ – The End (following on from Assignment one – ‘Square Mile’ – The Middle)

As well as providing the images according to the course requirements ‘1500 pixels along the longest edge and Adobe (1998) colour profile RGB jpegs’  I have also, as suggested by my tutor, submitted the images as A4 prints.  This was not a requirement for this Assignment but I took the view that sourcing a print company now and having a go at getting prints done was also an essential part of the learning process, so I decided to submit to my tutor as an A4 submission pack.

Here are my final selected images together with their technical specs.

Image 1 – “Off We Go!”
I liked the juxtaposition of the solid leading line that the wall gives, which feels closed in, compared to the more broken line the cars provide, which feels more open. I captured an element of my theme at the end of road too. The white house was a little over exposed but it was a bright day and exposing for both sunlit and shaded areas was a challenge.

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/2.8 50mm

Image 2 – “Ahhh, Sniff Corner”
I focused again on lines and the route being taken.  I would have liked to have had the walker and dog larger in the frame but that was difficult as I wanted to capture the wall on the left.

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/13 sec. f/22 17mm

Image 3 – “Doggy Bin Day”
Apart from having an element of my theme, I liked this image because it has a square shadowed area on the floor which the bin man is positioned on the corner of. All the lines in this image seemed to work.

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1250 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Image 4 – “See you there, Millie”
I had some challenging lighting conditions but focused on the reflection of the ‘Give Way’ sign whilst also capturing my theme in the background.  The road runs down but my eye wanted to level it off, however, this would have made the other uprights slanted.

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1000 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1000 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Image 5 – “Where’s Old Jess?”
I liked the shadow running from left to right and the structure that the garages give to the image.  Now that I have seen this image in printed format, I could maybe have straightened the verticals a bit as they seem to splay out.

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/30 sec. f/22 17mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/30 sec. f/22 17mm

Image 6 – “Hello Tree”
I think the contrast worked well in this image.  It’s clear that it wasn’t taken from the sunny side of the street.  The tree almost acts as a door slightly opened so you can see through to the park and the final 3 images. 

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/8000 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1000 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Image 7 – “Time to Run”
I liked the shadows cast across the grass.  I captured an element of my theme in the image as well which was important to my assignment focus.  Here the emphasis is on the ground so the background subjects/elements are out of focus. 

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/2.8 38mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/2.8 38mm

Image 8 – “Beyond the Puddle”
Although the puddle initially acts as a barrier the tree’s reflection gives a bridge for your eye to cross into the rest of the image.  Once in, you can access the theme elements in the background. 

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1000 sec. f/2.8 38mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1000 sec. f/2.8 38mm

Image 9 – “Is That Me?”
As this is the final image it was only fitting to have the inspiration of my Assignment in the frame.  Due to the lighting conditions I felt that I lost definition between the subject and the background.  If I had not wanted to keep the horizon lines the same for all the images, I might have focused just on the reflection. 

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1600 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Technical Details: ISO 100 1/1600 sec. f/2.8 17mm

Further development:

“This project could definitely be extended.  I think some of the photographs could have been stronger by obtaining an even lower viewpoint, however, even at the height I used I had to sit on the floor at times to look through the viewfinder, so a further reduction in height could be physically challenging.  I could also explore taking photographs within a dog pack but to do this a wider angled lens I think would be required because of proximity issues.”

As I mention in my formal submission (see above) this is a project that could definitely be extended in several different ways, from re-appraising the viewpoint which the photographs were taken, to changing the colour treatment to make an assumption on what sight with only 2 cones would be like, to maybe picking a specific element say, reflection and expanding on that within the theme.  I could go on but I won’t.

This completes my Assignment one ‘Square Mile’ submission from a course requirement perspective and I now await feedback from my tutor.

Leave a Reply

